Coordinators and participants of the Dance Round Table
March 8, 2018

2018 is the year of the Dance Round Table – a participatory process for the joint development of a sustainable future concept for dance in Berlin. The participants of the Dance Round Table are now set.
In at least four rounds of talks, representatives of Berlin’s cultural policy, the Senate Culture Administration and the Berlin dance scene will come together to discuss how to improve conditions in the Berlin dance scene. The Dance Round Table will be accompanied by working groups that are open to all interested parties and whose results will be included in the joint rounds of discussion with the Dance Round Table participants.

The professional control, coordination and moderation of the Dance Round Table are handled by Karin Kirchhoff – curator, dramaturgist, lecturer – and Dr. Elisabeth Nehring – dance critic and journalist.
The chairmen of the Committee on Cultural Affairs, Sabine Bangert (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), as well as the cultural policy spokespersons from the SPD, Frank Jahnke, and Die Linke, Regina Kittler will also be participating in the Dance Round Table. The cultural administration is represented by the Secretary of State for Culture, Dr. Torsten Wöhlert and the Head of KD for the Support of Artists, Free Groups and Projects, Sabine Koehncke, as well as the Head of KB for Institutional Promotion, Barbara Esser.
The Berlin Cultural Administration has selected the following participants: Frank Schmid (for the jury’s perspective), Michaela Schlagenwerth (for the dance journalism perspective) and Dr. Kerstin Evert (external expert, K3 Centre for Choreography I Tanzplan Hamburg).
For the umbrella association Tanz Deutschland, Board Member Claudia Feest will participate in the Dance Round Table; Zeitgenössische Tanz Berlin e.V. will be represented by Board Member Moritz Majce. Marie Henrion will take part in the Dance Round Table on behalf of Tanzbüro Berlin.

On 14th Febrauary 2018 an open meeting for all protagonists of the Berlin dance scene took place at Uferstudios. In this meeting a public opinion trend was set that served as a base for the two coordinators to designate the 6 artistic participants of the Dance Round Table.

Participants from the artistic field of dance include:
Kareth Schaffer, choreographer, performer. Topics: Emerging artists, transition from training to professional practice
Deputy: Zwoisy Mears-Clarke, choreographer, performer. Topics: Diversity, inclusion, transmition
Peter Pleyer, choreographer, performer. Topics: International exchange, revaluation strategies, recent dance history
Deputy: Kirsten Maar, dance scholar. Topics: Dance studies, teaching
Anja Schmalfuss, Networking & Development – Sasha Waltz & Guests. Topics: Ensembles & repertoire, the big stage for dance, cultural policy work between the state and the federal government
Deputy: Ralf R. Ollertz, Artistic Director, HALLE TANZBÜHNE BERLIN. Topics: Internationalization, ensemble development
Simone Willeit, Managing Director, Uferstudios. Topics: New models of an institution – Dance venues, infrastructure funding for dance, funding and support for the entire range of choreographic practices and artistic work constellations
Deputy: Gabi Beier, Artistic Director, Studio & Bühne für den zeitgenössischen Tanz. Topics: Vocational training transition
Anna Mülter, Artistic Director – Tanztage Berlin, Dance Dramaturgy – Sophiensaele. Topics: Variety, emerging artists, inclusion
Deputy: Kirsten Seeligmüller, Artistic Director DOCK 11 & Eden***** Topics: Teaching, emerging artists, inclusion
Annemie Vanackere, Artistic direction and management HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Topics: Large stage/large formats, artistic career and promotion, audience development
Deputy: Ricardo Carmona, dance dramaturg – HAU Hebbel am Ufer.
The Dance Round Table will be held for the first time on March 23rd 2018. Dates for the initial working group meetings will be announced subsequently.